Thoughts on Mix:UK

I went to Mix:UK last week and have waited a while to let my impressions gel. I find that live blogging this type of thing just makes you a part of the echo chamber.

A number things stick in my mind from Mix:UK

  • ScottGu is a great presenter (slides); he’s super tech-savy, a great speaker and engages the audience brilliantly.
  • WPF is an excellent development platform
  • ASP.NET vNext is looking very crisp
  • Silverlight 1.1 is cool but not ready
  • The DLR is very cool but still not ready
  • Expression Blend is ready and can produce epic results
  • And last but not least: Software Transactional Memory

I must say that Software Transactional Memory (STM) is the thing that sticks in my mind. WPF was very cool, VS2008 had excellent new improvements and the sneak peeks (including a WPF MRI visualizer) were excellent but STM lingers in my mind.

STM has a great appeal because it is a truly revolutionary idea that cuts to the root of a problem. Just as the call stack revolutionised modern programing; I’m sure STM will be the first step into a new concurrent software revolution.

Haskell already has an implementation so I’d love one for the CLR from Simon at MS Cambridge 🙂

Leave a Reply

