Voice to Internet

I just noticed Dial2Do. They offer a voice to SMS/Email/Twitter/you-name-it service. But like SpinVox before them they employ human operators.

Voice recognition & speech generation is one of those areas that just seems to lag behind our expectations. Now, I know there are lots of voice recognition systems out there that work surprisingly well once trained. But few of us speak to our computer at home, nor do they talk back. And I doubt we will for many years to come.

The reasons is; speech is hard, and so it should be, since it’s our only advantage over chimps and you don’t see many of them running fortune 500 companies. (I might be being naive here…)

Anyhoo I doubt I’ll use Dail2Do unless they add features like; organize dinner or clean my house.

Leave a Reply

